Home | Supplements | eBooks | DVDs | Articles | Forum
Truly Huge Bodybuilding and Fitness

Click Here for Free Bodybuilding and Fitness Magazine Subscription

[Submit to forum] [Back to The Truly Huge Home Page]

Animal vs Plant Protein for Bodybuilding

Posted by: William

I've been competing as a Natural Bodybuilder since 2008, and when my coach began to prepare me for my 1st contest, he immediately changed my diet. One of the biggest changes was a large increase in lean meat consumption. Since then, I consumed about 1 1/2 pounds of lean meat or egg whites on a daily basis. That's over 500 pounds of meat/year! Meanwhile, I had done some research around this meat consumption and whether I could gain the same advantages of the high meat diet with a plant-based diet. I tried this from six months, and here are my findings while on the plant-based (vegan) diet:

Plant based foods are higher in carbs, thus I felt like I had more energy than the higher meat diet.

My recovery time between intense weight training sessions was slower with the plant-based diet versus animal protein (meat) diet. **not good for the competitive athlete**

Plant-based diet is less expensive than meat based.

My strength after about two months decreased around 5%-10% while on the plant-based diet. **not good for the competitive athlete**

If you are a competitive bodybuilder/figure competitor, the composition of animal protein is essential to maximizing lean muscle mass.