Home | Supplements | eBooks | DVDs | Articles | Forum
Truly Huge Bodybuilding and Fitness

Click Here for Free Bodybuilding and Fitness Magazine Subscription

[Submit to forum] [Back to The Truly Huge Home Page]

The day and night before a powerlifting meet

Posted by: Roger

And all through the house :)

Just kidding. I am barely a class II powerlifter but I have a lot of experience. So I thought I would share my thoughts. They may be helpful to some of you considering your first meet.

This morning I weighed 146. I like to get a little under the limit before a competition. You never know if there is going to be a variance between scales. I don't like sweating off pounds to make weight. So far everytime I have weighed in at a meet with a scale which was certified in the passed 24 hours, it has matched mine. But I have also gotten on scales that had not been certified in a while and been up to 3lbs heavier than mine says.

I took the night off of work. Personal Leave day so I get paid. I will be laying around watching tv all night. Hopefully I will be able to fall asleep by midnight. Not because I need the sleep for the meet. But because I need the sleep for the drive. The amount of sleep one gets the night before a competition does not seem to affect one's performance. It is the amount of sleep one gets 2 nights before the meet which does. Most powerlifters that I have talked to rarely get a good night sleep the night before. They are too keyed up. I remember sitting up with Jason Burnell talking till 3 AM at the 1999 USAPL senior nationals. He got up at 6 and performed beautifully. I had one HECK of a time driving home from St Louis that afternoon :)

As far as eating, I am going to try to eat as much like I do when I go to work as I possibly can. Protien shake for breakfast, dinner will contain almost all the carbs I get for the day. Cottage cheese at 5PM. Milk and fish at 8PM. Will avoid a midnight snack.